Polling ‘peaceful’ in West Bengal’s Bhabanipur, 35.97% turnout till 1 PM

Voting has largely been peaceful in Bhabanipur assembly constituency, where West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is contesting, with 35.97 pc turnout till 1 pm, officials said.
A high voting rate at 57.15 per cent and 53.78 per cent was recorded in Murshidabad’s Samserganj and Jangipur seats, respectively, where polls had to be countermanded during the April-May assembly elections following the death of two candidates.
A total of 6,97,164 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the three constituencies.
Voting will continue till 6 PM.
Banerjee, who is also the Trinamool Congress supremo, is pitted against BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal and CPI(M)’s Srijib Biswas in Bhabanipur.
Tibrewal claimed that TMC forcibly stopped the voting process at a polling booth in ward number 72, and that state minister Firhad Hakim and Subrata Mukherjee were trying to influence the voters in the constituency.
The BJP has lodged a complaint with the Election Commission against Hakim and …