Bypolls 2021: Counting of Votes in 3 Lok Sabha, 29 Assembly Seats Begins

The by-elections were held on Saturday, 30 November.
The counting of votes for the three Lok Sabha and 29 Assembly seats across 13 states and the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli began on Tuesday, 2 November.
As per final results at the end of the day, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) won in all four seats in West Bengal. Meanwhile, EC data indicated that National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won in all five seats in Assam, and the Congress swept the Himachal Pradesh bypolls.
Here’s how each state fared:
YSR Congress Party won with a big margin.
The ruling NDA government in the state, with the BJP and its ally UPPL, won all five seats that voted in the bypolls.
The JD(U) won in Kusheshwar Asthan, Bihar with a margin of 12,695 votes.
Chief Electoral Officer HR Srinivas has termed RJD’s allegation of delay in the counting of the Tarapur assembly by-election votes as completely baseless. He says the counting of votes is being done properly and in a fair manner, and that the commission is sure about it.
Earlier, the RJD tweeted that the “counting of votes in Tarapur has been deliberately slowed down like in the 2020 general election. Bihar government has a plan to drag it till late at night. All RJD supporters, workers, leaders beware!”
The INLD’s Abhay Chautala won by 6,700 votes in Ellenabad, Haryana.
The Congress party wins all three Assembly seats – Fatehpur, Jubbal-Kothkai and Arki – in Himachal Pradesh.
BJP and Congress manage to win one seat each.
Congress wins Hangal with a margin of 7373 votes while BJP trails.
In Sindgi, BJP wins with a margin of 31,185 votes; Congress second, JD(S) third.
The BJP won Jobat and Prithvipur Vidhan Sabha Assembly seats, as well as the Khandwa Lok Sabha seat.
Congress wins Raigaon Assembly constituency.
The UDP won in the Mawphlang Assembly constituency in Meghalaya with over 4k votes.
In Mawryngkneng and Rajabala, NPP won with a margin of 1816 and 1926 votes, respectively. Congress assumed second place.
The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) won the bypoll to the Tuirial assembly seat, securing 39.96% of the total 14,593 votes polled.
MNF candidate K Laldawngliana secured 5,820 votes, defeating Laltlanmawia of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) by a margin of 1,284 votes.
Big blow to BJP in two Assembly seats of Rajasthan.
In Dhariawad, Nagaraj Meena of the Congress won by over 18 thousand votes. The BJP stood at number three, while an independent candidate stood second.
At the same time, Preeti Shaktawat of Congress won in Vallabhnagar constituency.
BJP won in Telangana’s Huzurabad constituency, with Eatala Rajender leading by a margin of 23,855 votes.
TMC won all four seats in West Bengal, winning Gosaba with a margin of 1,43,051 votes, Dinhata with 1,64,089 votes, Santipur with 64,675 votes and Khardaha with 93,832 votes.
BJP took second place in all constituencies.
Shiv Sena candidate Kalaben Delkar, the wife of former MP Mohan Delkar who had allegedly died by suicide, won the Dadra and Nagar Haveli LS seat by a comfortable margin of 51,269 votes.
The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party won in Nagaland’s Shamator Chessore, the only constituency that went to bypolls on the 30 October.
The by-elections were held on Saturday, 30 October, during which 50 percent to 80 percent turnout was recorded.
Of the 29 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) held power in six seats, the Congress in nine, while the rest were with regional parties.
Saturday’s by-elections were held in five seats in Assam, four in West Bengal, three each in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, and Meghalaya, two each in Bihar, Karnataka, and Rajasthan and one seat each in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram, and Telangana.
Bypolls were conducted in the three Lok Sabha seats, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Mandi in Himachal Pradesh, and Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh, after their sitting members passed away.
(With inputs from ANI.)
(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)
Loading Comments…
Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  ⁄  two  =  five