3 Indian Players Who Could Be Benched For The 2nd Test vs New Zealand When Virat Kohli Arrives

The Home of Cricket Addicts
India are currently playing the first of the two-match Test series against New Zealand in Kanpur. The Men in Blue are in a pretty good position at the moment.
New Zealand are 4 for 1 at Stump’s on day 4. India needs 9 wickets on the final day to win the game, while New Zealand need 280 runs. Given the fact that spinners are likely to get more purchases from the surface on the final day, one expects India to win the match.
India played the first Test without their regular skipper Virat Kohli. The Indian skipper, however, is all set to make his comeback in the second Test after taking much-needed rest.
In the absence of Virat Kohli, the management handed the Test cap to Shreyas Iyer. The 26-year old made full use of the opportunity and aggregated 170 runs in his maiden Test. He scored a sensational century in his first innings, followed by another valuable 75-run knock in the second.
Shreyas Iyer’s performance has now given a selection headache to the management for the second Test. Who will make way for Virat Kohli in the second Test? On that note, we take a look at three Indian players who could be benched for the second Test vs New Zealand when Virat Kohli arrives.
Ajinkya Rahane has received a lot of backing from the team management despite his struggles with the bat in the last couple of years. His performances with the bat in Test Cricket don’t inspire too much confidence. He averages in the low 20s this year. He looked miserable with the bat on India’s tour to England earlier. In 4 matches, he managed to score only 109 runs in 4 Tests at an average of 15.57.
Rahane, who is currently captaining in the ongoing Test, scored 35 (63) and 13 (28). The management has already given him a lot of opportunities. However, it looks like he might get dropped in the next match, and perhaps his career might come to an end with that.

India National Cricket Team
Afghanistan National Cricket Team
Australia National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team
England Cricket Team
Ireland Cricket Team
New Zealand National Cricket Team
Pakistan National Cricket Team
South Africa National Cricket Team
Sri Lanka National Cricket Team
West Indies Cricket Team
Zimbabwe National Cricket Team
Big Bash League
Bangladesh Premier League
Indian Premier League
Pakistan Super League
India vs Sri Lanka
Australia vs New Zealand
T10 League
Women Big Bash League
Vitality T20 Blast
Caribbean Premier League
Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma
Babar Azam
Faf du Plessis
Steve Smith
Kane Williamson
Joe Root
David Warner
Jason Roy
Quinton de Kock


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirty two  ⁄    =  4