Full set of game notes – 12 pages (pdf)
Big Sky Tournament home page

Quick Hits
• Sacramento State (14-25, 8-10) will compete in the six-team Big Sky Conference Tournament. The postseason event will take place May 13-15 at Wildcat Softball Field in Ogden, Utah. The tournament, which is a double elimination format, features four games on Thursday, four games on Friday, and two on Saturday. There is a chance that three games are played on Saturday if necessary.
• Every game of the tournament will be video streamed on Pluto.TV channel 1050, and Live stats for every game can be found on
• Weber State earned the right to host the tournament based on winning the Big Sky’s regular season championship in 2019. Zero conference games were played in 2020 because of the pandemic.
• Six of the league’s seven teams qualify for the Big Sky Tournament, and the winner earns the league’s automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals. Sacramento State last won the Big Sky Tournament title and qualified for the NCAA Tournament in 2018.
• Seeds for this year’s tournament are as follows: No. 1 Weber State (15-3), No. 2 Southern Utah (10-8), No. 3 Sacramento State (8-10), No. 4 Northern Colorado (8-10), No. 5 Portland State (8-10) and No. 6 Montana (8-10). Idaho State did not qualify.
• The Hornets needed to win two of their games this past weekend at Southern Utah to get the No. 2 seed and a first round bye, but dropped two of three to the Thunderbirds. The top two seeds (Weber State and Southern Utah) receive first round byes.
• Sacramento State remains the only team in the conference that has qualified for every Big Sky Tournament (2013-pres.). And the team has been the No. 3 seed or higher six times (2014-18, 2021).
• The Hornets open the tournament vs. No. 6 Montana on Thursday at 11 a.m. PT. The winner of that game will play on the same day vs. No. 2 Southern Utah at 4:30 p.m. PT. The loser of the Hornet-Griz game will play Friday morning at 8:30 a.m. PT.
• The quickest way for the Hornets to win the Big Sky Tournament would be to win four straight games, which would mean two games Thursday, one on Friday, and one on Saturday.
• The championship game will take place on Saturday at 11 a.m. PT. There is a chance another game would have to be played, and that would take place at 1:30 p.m. PT if necessary.
• Sacramento State will be seeking its second Big Sky title (2018) since the league began sponsoring softball in 2013. The Hornets’ last two conference championships and NCAA Tournament appearances came in 2018, and in 2008 when they were members of the Pacific Coast Softball Conference.
• Amazingly, the host of the tournament has won the Big Sky’s postseason event just once (Weber State did in 2016). Portland State won in 2013, Southern Utah in 2014, Weber State in both 2015 and 2016, Montana in 2017, Sacramento State in 2018, and Weber State in 2019. Idaho State hosted the first three years (2013-15), Weber State hosted the next three (2016-18), and Sacramento State in 2019. The Big Sky Tournament was not played in 2020 because of the pandemic.
• Of this year’s tournament field, only Northern Colorado has yet to win a Big Sky Tournament championship. Each of the other five teams have claimed at least one title.
• Sacramento State has been part of three-game sweeps this season against four tournament opponents. The Hornets swept both Northern Colorado (home) and Montana (away) to start the season. However, they suffered back-to-back three-game sweeps at the hands of Weber State (home) and Portland State (away). This past weekend, the Hornets took one of three games at Southern Utah.
• Sacramento State is 10-12 all-time in Big Sky Tournament play, including 2-2 in the 2019 tourney.
• All-time Big Sky Tournament records vs. this year’s participants: 3-0 vs. Montana, 3-2 vs. Southern Utah, 2-1 vs. Northern Colorado, 0-2 vs. Weber State and 0-1 vs. Portland State. Sacramento State has played Southern Utah in five of the Hornets’ seven Big Sky Tournament appearances.
• On Tuesday, five Hornets were selected all-Big Sky, including a pair of second teamers (pitcher Marissa Bertuccio and first baseman Alondra Mejia), and three honorable mention selections (third baseman Lewa Day, utility player Carley Morfey and catcher Amber Rodriguez). Every player on that list is a sophomore except Mejia, who is a junior.
• Day was named the NFCA National Player of the Week on Tuesday after going 6-for-7 at Southern Utah with four homers, five intentional walks and 10 RBIs in last week’s three-game series.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifty six  ⁄  eight  =