Free Video Downloader

Zimbabwe announce 15-member squad for Bangladesh ODIs, Regis Chakabva named captain

The first ODI will be played at Harare Sports Club on August 5.

Zimbabwe the Champions of 2022 ICC Men's T20 Worldcup Qualifier B.
Zimbabwe the Champions of 2022 ICC Men’s T20 Worldcup Qualifier B. (Photo Source: Twitter/ICC)

Just a few hours before the start of the first ODI, Zimbabwe Cricket have named a 15-member squad, on Thursday, that will compete against Bangladesh in the three-match ODI series scheduled to begin on August 5. Regis Chakabva, the 34-year-old wicketkeeper-batter has been named the captain of the side and will be in charge of the team for the next five days.

The three ODIs are set to be played on August 5, August 7, and August 10 and all the fixtures will be hosted by the Harare Sports Club in Harare. Craig Ervine, the team’s regular captain, has been given a break to help him recover from recent physical discomforts, and thus Chakabva will take over as captain.

Sean Williams, Zimbabwe’s veteran all-rounder, will also miss the series because he has been granted some time off to take care and manage some personal issues. Ervine and Williams have been replaced by Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Tarisai Musakanda in the 15-member squad. Players who recently helped Zimbabwe win the T20I series against Bangladesh make up the remainder of the team.

Zimbabwe players in good form

Luke Jongwe and Ryan Burl have retained their place in the squad after impressive performances in the recently concluded T20I series. Zimbabwe scripted history by defeating Bangladesh for the first time in a T20I series, and they would be looking to perform in a similar manner to end the series on a high note.

Burl was one of the finest performers of the series, as his 28-ball 54-run knock in the series decider helped the team in adding a new feather to their cap. He went on a six-hitting spree and amassed 34 runs in a single over to enter the elite list of batters to score the most runs in a single T20I over.

Sikandar Raza was adjudged the Player of the Series as he accumulated 127 runs in the three games, with the best score of 65* (26) from the first game. The middle-order batter, who is in terrific form in the white-ball format, will look to extend his purple patch in the ODIs as well.

Zimbabwe Squad for ODIs vs Bangladesh:

Regis Chakabva (C), Ryan Burl, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Tarisai Musakanda, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  ⁄  one  =  ten