Free Video Downloader

2023 Leagues Cup groups revealed

The 2023 Leagues Cup tournament will see 15 groups with Major League Soccer and Liga MX teams compete in a ‘World Cup-style’ competition from July 21 to August 19. 

For the first time ever, all teams from both leagues will compete in the month-long event. 

The groups each contain three teams, and stand divided by four different regions: West (three groups), Central (four groups), South (four groups) and East (four groups). The reigning MLS and Liga MX champions will not participate in the group stage and advance directly to the knockout round of 32. 

Per league rules, the place of the top 15 MLS teams was determined by their matching region and their position in the 2022 Supporters’ Shield standings. Liga MX teams were then ranked by the aggregate 2022 table, and placed into the groups through reverse order so that the number 1 team would be placed with the number 15 side from the American league. 

The remaining MLS clubs were placed into their matching region first and then organized into the groups by their position in the Supporters’ Shield standings.

All clubs will play two games each, with a group stage schedule set to be revealed at a later time. 

The top 15 MLS teams included in the group stage will serve as hosts for the two games to ensure all 77 games of the competition be held in the United States of Canada. Three points will be awarded for victories in the group stage, and one point for every game that ends in a draw during regulation time. But every draw will be forced into a penalty shootout, where the winner earns one extra point. 

Details on tiebreakers in the group standings have yet to be revealed.


West 1: Tigres UANL, Portland Timbers, San Jose Earthquakes

West 2: Monterrey, Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC

West 3: LA Galaxy, Club Leon, Vancouver Whitecaps FC


Central 1: America, Columbus Crew, St. Louis CITY SC

Central 2: Puebla, Minnesota United FC, Chicago Fire FC

Central 3: Chivas Guadalajara , FC Cincinnati, Sporting Kansas City

Central 4: Nashville SC, Toluca, Colorado Rapids


South 1: Austin FC, Mazatlan FC, FC Juarez

South 2: Santos Laguna, Orlando City SC, Houston Dynamo FC

South 3: Cruz Azul, Inter Miami CF, Atlanta United

South 4: FC Dallas, Necaxa, Charlotte FC


East 1: Philadelphia Union, Club Tijuana, Queretaro

East 2: CF Montreal, Pumas, D.C. United

East 3: New York City FC, Atlas, Toronto FC

East 4: New York Red Bulls, Atletico de San Luis, New England Revolution

Source link