India’s successful chase, Josh Inglis’ feat and other stats

Josh Inglis’s knock of 110 went in vain as Suryakumar Yadav’s brilliant knock of 80 off 42 and Ishan Kishan smashed 58 off 39 to help India defeat Australia by a margin of two wickets in the 1st T20I of Australia tour of India 2023 in Visakhapatnam 

India won the toss and elected to bowl first. Ravi Bishnoi drew first blood, dismissing Matthew Short for 13 runs. Steven Smith and Josh Inglis rescued the innings with a 130-run partnership. Smith scored a fifty before being run out, while Inglis continued to score, eventually reaching his maiden century before being dismissed by Prasidh Krishna. Inglis’ knock included 11 fours and eight sixes. Small cameos from Tim David (19 off 13) and Marcus Stoinis (7 off 6) helped Australia post 208/3 in 20 overs. Mukesh Kumar was the pick of the bowlers for India with his economical spell of 0/29 in 4 overs

In response to 208, Ruturaj Gaikwad got run out for a diamond duck following a mix-up with Yashasvi Jaiswal, who was then dismissed for 21 runs by Matthew Short. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan rescued India with a 112-run partnership. Kishan scored 58 runs before being dismissed by Tanveer Sangha as his knock included five sixes and two fours. Soon after, Tilak Varma was dismissed for 12 runs. Skipper Suryakumar Yadav reached 80 runs before being dismissed by Jason Behrendorff. His knock included nine fours and four sixes. India was left at 202 for five, but Rinku Singh’s cameo of 22 runs from 14 balls helped India win the match by two wickets

Let us look at the stats and numbers from the first T20I between India and Australia:

130- The partnership between Josh Inglis and Smith was the highest for the second wicket for Australia in T20Is. The previous highest partnership of 124 was held by Mitchell Marsh and David Warner, which they achieved against the West Indies in 2021

1- Josh Inglis smashed 110,  which is his highest T20I score, surpassing his previous best of 48 against Sri Lanka in 2022 at Sydney

4 – Josh Inglis’ 110 is the fourth-highest individual score against India in T20Is.

4 – Josh Inglis smashed eight sixes in his innings, which is the fourth-most sixes in an innings by an Australian batter.

1 – Josh Inglis smashed a century in 47 balls, which is the joint-fastest century by an Australian batter in T20Is. He shares this record with Aaron Finch, who smashed 156 against England in 2013

Australia batters with most sixes in a T20I innings

14 – Aaron Finch vs ENG at Southampton in 2013
10 – Aaron Finch vs ZIM at Harare in 2018
9 – Glenn Maxwell vs SL at Pallekele in 2016
9 – Glenn Maxwell vs IND at Banglore in 2019
8 – Josh Inglis vs IND at Visakhapatnam in 2023

2 – Australia’s 208 is the second-highest total scored against India by Australia in T20Is. The highest total was 211/6, achieved in 2022 at Mohali

54 – Ravi Bishnoi conceded 54 runs in his 4-over spell, which is the second-most expensive spell by an Indian bowler against Australia in T20Is. The most expensive spell is 55 runs, conceded by Krunal Pandya at Brisbane in 2018.

5-Ishan Kishan’s five sixes in his innings is the most sixes by an Indian wicketkeeper-batter in T20Is, surpassing Rishabh Pant’s four during his unbeaten 65 off 42 against the West Indies at Providence in 2019

3 & 4 – Ruturaj Gaikwad and Arshdeep Singh became the third and fourth Indian players to be dismissed for a diamond duck in T20Is. The other Indian batsmen to be dismissed in this manner are Jasprit Bumrah against Sri Lanka at Pune in 2016 and Amit Mishra against England at Nagpur in 2017

2 – Ishan Kishan smashed two fifty-plus scores, which is the second joint-most by an Indian wicketkeeper-batter. He shares this record with MS Dhoni and Rishabh Pant. KL Rahul tops the list with three

1 – India’s chase of 209 against Australia is their highest successful chase in T20Is. Their previous highest successful chase was 208 against the West Indies in 2019 at Hyderabad.

1 – India’s 209 is the highest successful chase against Australia in T20Is by India. The previous highest was 202 at Rajkot in 2013.

1 – India has now successfully chased down five targets of 200 or more in T20Is, the most by any team. South Africa is in second place with four successful chases, followed by Pakistan and Australia with three each

2 – Suryakumar Yadav has won his 13th Player of the Match award in T20Is, making him the Indian player with the second-most POTM award. He is also the player with the third-most POTM awards, with only Virat Kohli (15) and Mohammad Nabi (14) winning more awards.

Source link