Canada to face Argentina, Finland, Great Britain at Davis Cup Finals Group Stage in Manchester

Matches will be played out of AO Arena from September 10-15

On Tuesday, it was revealed at the draw for the 2024 Davis Cup Finals Group Stage that Team Canada will be playing out of Group D alongside Argentina, Finland, and Great Britain in Manchester, England at AO Arena from September 10-15, 2024 for a spot in the Davis Cup Final 8 knockout stage.

“We’re very excited to head to Manchester and compete for our spot in the Davis Cup Final 8 knockout stage,” said team captain Frank Dancevic. “We’ve drawn some tough opponents in Finland, Great Britain and Argentina, but we will go there with plenty of confidence, especially after our victory in Montreal last month.”

The Davis Cup Finals Group Stage will see 16 nations competing against one another in four separate groups. The winners and runner-ups from each group will progress to the Final 8 knockout stage in Malaga, Spain from November 19-24, 2024.

Finland’s roster could be led by Emil Ruusuvuori, currently ranked No. 48 in the world, as well as Harri Heliovaara, the No. 38 ranked doubles player on the ATP Tour. Canada was defeated by Finland in the quarter-final of the Davis Cup Final 8 in 2023, as Finland achieved its best result in Davis Cup history by reaching the semi-final.

Host nation Great Britain’s roster could include Joe Salisbury and Neal Skupski, who are ranked No. 6 and No. 11 in doubles, respectively. Plus, No. 31 Cameron Norrie, No. 42 Jack Draper, No. 43 Daniel Evans and No. 62 Andy Murray could all be featured as well. Great Britain last won the Davis Cup in 2015.

Some of the notable Argentinian players on the ATP Tour include No. 19 Sebastian Baez, No. 21 Francisco Cerundolo, No. 30 Tomas Martin Etcheverry and No. 8 doubles player Horacio Zeballos. Argentina won its first Davis Cup title in 2016.

Team Canada qualified for the Group Stage of the Davis Cup Finals after defeating the Republic of Korea in a tie in Montreal, Quebec in February. The team in Montreal was made up of Gabriel Diallo (Montreal, QC), Milos Raonic (Thornhill, ON), Vasek Pospisil (Vernon, BC), Alexis Galarneau (Laval, Quebec) and Liam Draxl (Newmarket, ON).

This marks the fifth straight year that Canada will appear in the Davis Cup Finals Group Stage, making it to the Final 8 knockout stage in 2023 and winning the Davis Cup in 2022.

The groups and locations for the remaining competing nations are as follows:

GROUP A – Bologna, Italy





GROUP B – Valencia, Spain





GROUP C – Zhuhai, China


United States



GROUP D – Manchester, United Kingdom



Great Britain


Source link