Team’s Standings after Rajasthan Royals vs Gujarat Titans

IPL 2024 Points Table: Team's Standings after Rajasthan Royals vs Gujarat Titans
Pic: IPL Official Site

IPL 2024 Updated Points Table: In what proved to be a really exciting and nail biting encounter, the Gujarat Titans defeated Rajasthan Royals in the 24th game of the 2024 Tata Indian Premier League by three wickets on the final delivery of the game and this win helped the Shubman Gill led team secure their third win of the season.

The three wicket win against Rajasthan helped the Titans record the second highest run chase at Jaipur’s Sawai Mansingh Stadium. The IPL 2022 winners equalled the record of the Rajasthan Royals when they chased down a target of 197 runs against the defunct Deccan Chargers in 2012.

Shubman Gill won the toss and asked Sanju Samson and company to bat first and the home side didn’t mind batting first as the duo of Jos Buttler (8 runs in 10 balls) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (24 runs in 19 balls) helped RR score 43 runs in the first six overs.

But, the duo of Riyan Parag (76 runs in 48 balls) and skipper Sanju Samson (68 runs in 35 balls) played the rescue act and helped RR get out of a difficult situation.

Riyan Parag and Sanju Samson
IPL 2024 Points Table: Team’s Standings after Rajasthan Royals vs Gujarat Titans 2

Both of them got involved in a partnership of 130 runs in 78 balls for the third wicket. In the end, Shimron Hetmyer (13 runs in 5 balls) applied the finishing touches as the hosts got past the 190 runs mark

In reply, Gujarat’s opening duo of Shubman Gill (72 runs in 44 balls) and Sai Sudharsan (35 runs in 29 balls) stitched an opening partnership of 64 runs but RR seamer Kuldeep Sen (3-41) broke the partnership as he dismissed Sudharsan in the ninth over of the GT inning. He didn’t stop there as dismissed the duo of Abhinav Manohar (1 run in 2 balls) and Matthew Wade (4 runs in 6 balls) in quick succession in the 11th over.

Shubman Gill went back to the pavilion as he smashed 72 runs but got stumped off the bowling of Yuzi Chahal in the 16th over.

In the death overs, Rashid Khan (24 *runs in 11 balls) and Rahul Tewatia (22 runs in 11 balls ) got involved in a match winning stand of 39 runs as they helped GT overcome the Rajasthan Royals by three wickets. The undefeated streak of the Sanju Samson led Rajasthan Royals came to an end after their defeat against the IPL 2022 winners.

Down below is the: Updated IPL points table after GT vs RR

IPL 2024 Updated Points Table

The Rajasthan Royals faced a three wicket defeat against the Titans but that defeat doesn’t affect them as they continue to stay at the top of the points table with eight points in five games and a Net Run Rate of +0.871.

The second position is occupied by IPL 2012 and 2014 winners Kolkata Knight Riders with six points and a Net Run Rate of +1.528. The third and fourth spots are occupied by CSK and LSG respectively.

IPL 2016 winners Sunrisers Hyderabad are at the fifth position with six points and a Net Run Rate of +0.344. Following their victory against Rajasthan, GT have moved up to the sixth spot with six points as we but their Net Run Rate of -0.637 is lower than the NRR of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Gujarat’s win against Rajasthan means that the Punjab Kings fell to the seventh spot with four points and a negative Net Run Rate of -0. 196. Mumbai Indians are at the eight position with just two points in four games.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Delhi Capitals are the bottom of the overall IPL 2024 standings having won the same number of games as the Mumbai Indians but their Net Run Rates of -0.843 and -1.370 are higher than the Net Run Rate of the five time IPL winners.

1 Rajasthan Royals 5 4 1 0 8 0.871
2 Kolkata Knight Riders 4 3 1 0 6 1.528
3 Lucknow Super Giants 4 3 1 0 6 0.775
4 Chennai Super Kings 5 3 2 0 6 0.666
5 Sunrisers Hyderabad 5 3 2 0 6 0.344
6 Gujarat Titans 6 3 3 0 6 -0.637
7 Punjab Kings 5 2 3 0 4 -0.196
8 Mumbai Indians 4 1 3 0 2 -0.704
9 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 5 1 4 0 2 -0.843
10 Delhi Capitals 5 1 4 0 2 -1.370

READ: Full Men’s Test Player Standings

For More, Visit Official Site of IPL

Source link